top of page

Fermented Rice Benefits

As part of my conscious Lifestyle practices, I decided to change my food habits and go old school. Changing food habits slowly and it's been some time that moved to my 'grans style' fully.

Life away from home for college and work, IT job, long hours of work everything yes I had a bad lifestyle for very long and in the recent past, I realised I needed to focus on my health and start practicing good lifestyle.

As part of adapting to healthy eating habits, I started taking "neeragaram" (in Tamil) or what can be called as the "fermented rice water", in English.

Yes, this was the most ancient health drink that our ancestors used to have, popular in the Indian tradition. Usually had with buttermilk and salt with raw shallots and green chillies as accomplishments.

When I was only a kid, grandmother and mom dad and almost all elders used to have this in my family. Although they tried teaching me about the benefits, I never listened back then. I thought that were try to trick me to eat something that was left over from the previous day (I know but I was only a kid🙈).

Now Google made me understand my gran better😂.

Benefits of fermented rice as Google thought me:

  • As they get soaked in water for the whole night, bacterial action (fermentation) occurs, and lactic acid content goes up. This one reason, new mothers were encouraged to take this back then, as the lactic acid content helps them lactate better.

  • Other minerals like iron, magnesium went up as it fermentations.

  • Natural body coolant.

  • Good source of energy and it boosts the immune system.

  • Helps with bowl movement, ulcers and other stomach ailments.

This is fremented from Poongar Rice which is yet another forgotten rice variety that is good for women. I added cooked ash guard for that extra nutrient factor.

I have a heat body. My normal temperature is usually a degree more and this definitely helped with my body heat. I feel better throughout the day these days and lite too😍.

Like this post?
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page